Nevada State Horizontal Gold and Black Logo

NSC Honors Faculty and Staff During Appreciation Dinner

Mar 22, 2012 | Campus News

March 22, 2012
By Mandi Enger
During an annual appreciation dinner and awards ceremony held on March 22, 2012, Nevada State College President Bart Patterson joined members of the Board of Regents, the Nevada State College Foundation, and NSC faculty and staff to honor accomplishments of the campus community made during the 2011 school year.
The skill, passion, and innovation of each of our team members is outstanding, said Patterson. It’s important for us to take time each year to acknowledge the accomplishments and success of our entire campus in providing a quality education and experience for our students.”
During the ceremony, Technology Fellows, Part-Time Faculty, Classified Employee of the Year, iTeach, and Anniversary award recipients were recognized.
The mission of the Technology Fellows program is to advance excellence in teaching, student, and customer service while embracing the College’s Core Values. Participants achieve this goal through both instructional and community/student service projects that use technology to improve program delivery.
This year’s honorees worked in a new learning management system platform anticipating ways of designing courses with new tools and a new interface and building essential course sites for the transition, Sam McCool, Instructional Technology Manager at NSC stated as he introduced the honorees and detailed their contributions.
Robin Herlands, Online Active Learning Tools for Preparing Science Students for Laboratory
Jim LaBuda, Cooperating Teacher Online Resource Center
Linda Jacobson, Revision of Nursing 408 Conceptual Bases in Nursing
Kathryn Mulvey, Student WebCampus Orientation for Bb Learn
Through the collaborative efforts and resources of each of the Nevada System of Higher Education institutions, System Computing Services, and Cedar Crestone consulting, the iNtegrate project was launched July 2008, with all institutions successfully going live Fall 2011.
The fundamental Integrate team members were recognized by NSC CFO, Buster Neel.
Andrea Martin
Cory McDonald
Neil Woolf
Arturo Torres
Brian Chongtai
Adelfa Sullivan
Sebern Coleman
Annie Macias
Anthony Morrone
Nominated by faculty members, part-time instructors are acknowledged each year for their skill, knowledge and dedication that provides an exceptional learning experience for each NSC student.
Provost Erika Beck introduced the 2011 honorees by sharing a student comment describing the merit of each recipient.
Ted Berg, Business Administration
Maria Stafford, Humanities
Chris Kolar, Education
Shannon Adams, Nursing
Brian Martinelli, Physical and Life Sciences
Nicole Bies-Hernandez, Social Sciences
Teri Romeo, Speech Pathology
Congratulations to all of our Part-Time Instructor award winners. We commend you for your dedication and support to Nevada State College, finished Beck.
Each year classified employees are nominated by faculty and staff for the outstanding efforts made within their departments as well as their dedication to the overall success of the college. Nominations are reviewed by a selection committee for the recommendation of one award recipient.
Sally Starkweather, School of Education
Sally exhibits a professional demeanor and is always kind, courteous, and ready to lend a helping hand, announced Lee Young, Associate Vice Provost for Enrollment Management during the ceremony.
iTeach awards have been presented annually since 2006 to those members of the NSC family who best exemplify the values of Innovation, Teaching Excellence, Economic Development, Assessment, Customer Service, and Heritage.
In addition, the iTeach team trophy is presented to one unit which best demonstrates the iTeach core values.
Innovation, Gregory Robinson
Teaching Excellence, Gwen Sharp and Rho Hudson
Economic Development, Sherri Coffman
Assessment, Tony Scinta and Neil Woolf
Customer Service, Velanie Williams
Heritage, Kebret Kebede
Unit Award, School of Education
Unique to the awards event this year, six NSC members were recognized for reaching their ten-year employment anniversaries an anniversary shared also with the college.
Erika Beck
Jaime Castle
Sherri Coffman
Richard Moore
Rho Hudson
Spencer Stewart
As NSC commemorates its tenth year of service and full accreditation, it’s important for us to also recognize the NSC members who have helped build our college from the very beginning, said Patterson. Together, our entire team will continue to expand and strengthen NSC into the next decade.